At 7 months my son is nearly 1/5 of my weight (just to give you an idea of what I am lugging around everyday) Carrying him around all day has led to a plethora of back, shoulder, and neck problems. I am pretty much incapable of doing anything with my left hand, so I use my left hip and arm to support him keeping my right hand free to do whatever it is I need to do. I have tried switching it up and holding him on my right hip, but it is just awkward, kind of like brushing your teeth with your non-dominant hand (try it and you will see what I mean).

My chiropractor has a daughter 1 month younger than my son and I conveniently met him one day as I hobbled into playgroup.  I started treatment that day and  shortly after that he diagnosed me with functional scoliosis. This can be corrected by chiropractic and massage therapies, but I was going to have to do something differently or it would become chronic. He is the one who introduced me to the Infantino Hip rider, which him and his wife (also a chiropractor silviakwon.com) he use all the time.

This Infantino rider is a knock-off of the popular original Hippychick Hipseat, but this company is based in the UK and is much more expensive product, and doesn’t included the removable shoulder strap (which for the Hippychick is an add-on with an extra charge), not to mention the cost of shipping.

I searched on infantino.com, but for some reason I could not find the hip rider on that site. The only place they seem to be available is on Ebay, Kijiji and Amazon. I did my due diligence and the reviews seemed to be mixed, but I sourced a used one on kijiji for $20, and for that price it was worth a try; I have since seen them for as low as $10 used. They are made of 100% machine washable material, to ease any apprehensions you may have about purchasing a sullied product.

When you have back problems it affects your nervous system and there is a decrease in communication with your muscles and organs, which can lead to infinite illnesses. It is likely that you will also experience a decrease in energy because your body expends so much of it in healing the problem and we Mumz need every ounce of energy for our babies.

I now use the hip rider every day at home; I wear in in the car and carry it in the stroller for when my son gets fussy and wants up. Although it does not provide as much support as a regular carrier, the hip rider does provides extra support when you are forced to pick up and carry your infant.

Check out the video link below for a quick demonstration:

Infantino Hip Rider

