Image

Is it possible to create palatable cookies and crackers with a grain free flour? …I do believe it is.

I finally found some time to play with this medium in my culinary atelier and my first attempt was nothing short of a disasterpiece. Here is a little preview of what your crackers should NOT look like:

I found a recipe online and tried a modification. The man calls it “adding cinnamon” – which is how he says I over-do things, and I definitely added too much “cinnamon ” to this one.  I wanted it to be a sweet, hearty cracker by adding extra ingredients and everything just fell apart…but “That’s the way the cookie crumbles” or cracker in this case.

I did not want to waste these sweet little crumbles, so I used them to make a yummy yogurt parfait.

Below is what your crackers SHOULD look like and the instructions on how I did it.

2 cups almond flour (not almond meal) You can find this at your local Health Food Store

1 tbsp. dried rosemary

Garlic powder, to taste

Chili flakes or fresh ground pepper, to taste

1 egg, beaten

2-3 tbsp. water

1 tsp. or so of sea salt

Preheat oven to 350°. Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add the beaten egg and mash the dough thoroughly with a fork. Slowly add in water until the consistency is that of play-dough, if it is too dry it will fall apart.

Line a cookie tray with parchment paper and disperse your dough evenly. Flatten with either your hands or a rolling pin (I found it easier with my hands). Sprinkle the flattened dough with sea salt. Place another piece of parchment paper on top and give it a few more rolls to flatten it out nicely. Remove the top piece of parchment paper and score the dough with a knife to create your cracker shape. Bake for 20-25 minutes on the middle rack rotating the tray half way through. Let cool and separate crackers.

You can play around with the herbs and spices a bit depending on what you have in the rack, but I would not recommend altering the flour, egg, water ratios. Almond flour is not cheap, so you do not want to experiment with it – besides, that’s what I am here for.

Enjoy these with hummus, guacamole, bruschetta, bruschettamole, whatever…

Enjoy

