IMG_4128

I’m digging cauliflower these days and now I can boast that I have my carnivorous carb-loving, vegetable-loathing better half diggin’ in too!! I was pleasantly surprised by his unexpected favorable review – who knew? He likes cauliflower!

I’ve been meaning to try this out for some time now, but basic cauliflower rice is pretty boring right? So I decided to go pilaf on this one!

This undemanding “rice” pilaf is served with cilantro yogurt dressing aside a chicken vindaloo dish. I have my Mother-in-law to thank for this one who made this combo for Sunday dinner a few weeks ago, of which I had to skip the rice. This inspired my grain-free variation.

IMG_4120

This recipe also makes a great match with the previous Butternut Coconut Curry Recipe I posted.

Pilaf Ingredients:

2 tbsp. coconut oil

1 head of cauliflower, finely chopped

1 cup of trail mix (mine had pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, almonds, cashews and raisins) Raisins are a must.

salt and pepper, to taste

IMG_4495

* If you prefer the plain version, just eliminate the trail mix.

Directions:

Use a food processor, Mandoline slicer or hand chop the cauliflower until it looks like rice. I used my mandoline slicer on the julienne setting and then used a chef”s knife using the rolling technique to chop them further.

In a skillet heat 2 tbsp. of coconut oil, then add in cauliflower rice. Heat on medium until it softens to a texture similar to that of regular white rice (15-20 minutes), stirring occasionally. Add salt and pepper to taste and transfer to a mixing bowl to cool. Once cooled, add in the trial mix and toss gently.

Yogurt Cilantro Dressing:

IMG_4482

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt

1 handful of fresh cilantro leaves

Directions:

Just add both ingredients to a blender, magic bullet or use a hand-held for 5-10 seconds. If you don’t have any of these tools, you can just finely chop the cilantro and stir it into the yogurt. You don’t really need salt and pepper in this dressing, as you should have enough in the pilaf already and won’t want to over-do it.

That’s it, now just serve with your favourite curry dish!

photo-45

Afterthought:

You can use the plain version of the “rice” as an option in your sushi rolls, but you will still need to use nori or rice paper, as it will not have the “stick” of sticky rice, which is traditionally used in sushi rolls.

