Since kale chips seem to be a popular trend among clean foodies these days, I figured I should run with the crowd and try them out, and why not kill two vegetables with one knife and give the less conventional beet chips a chance too…

a chance at death!?

Kale Chips

kale

Ingredients:

A bundle of kale

3 tbsp. olive oil

a sprinkling parmesan cheese or a finely grated cheese of your choice.

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 tbsp. mixed herbs of choice (I used rosemary, oregano and chili flakes)

kale tray

Directions: 

Pre-heat oven to 350º F. Wash and break up the bundle of kale into pieces and toss in a large bowl. Mix in olive oil and herbs. Line 2 cookie trays with aluminum foil (so you don’t have to wash them) and spread 1 layer of your seasoned kale over the trays. Sprinkle with cheese and bake for 10-15 minutes. If they are a bit soft don’t worry, they will get crispier as they cool. Once they are cooled you can scrape them from the foil with a spatula and transfer to a bowl, or your mouth.

kale in chips

Huge shrinkage factor here (never a good thing, unless of course we are talking about our waste lines) so try not to be too enthusiastic with those toppings, or it will be overpowering on these teeny weeny chips.

They were tasty, light, and crispy, but I would probably use them as  a garnish (on a dish that I have not yet conjured up in my mind) rather than a snacking chip. They were a bit too much work for too few chips and I certainly wouldn’t compare them to potato chips, but that’s why I had the beet chips as a back-up…or so I thought.

I have had beet chips many times in the past and they were always great, but are usually tossed in cornstarch (big no, no) and fried. I did some internet recipe rummaging and sourced out a few grain-free and baked versions, so I picked up some of these beautiful root vegetables and hoped for the best…

Here’s what happened…

Beet Chip Massacre!

Here’s what I used:

2 Beets

2 tbsp. coconut oil (olive oil was another option)

sprinkling of sea salt

Here’s what I did:

I pre-heated the oven to 350° F. Sliced up 2 beets with my mandoline on setting 3 and tossed them in coconut oil. Spread them out on 2 aluminum foil lined cookie sheets and sprinkled with sea salt. I baked them for 10-15 minutes and flipped them half way through.

Here’s what I got:

I ended up with a tray of unevenly baked, shrunken beet chips. I decided to transfer them to a rack to dry them out and that helped a bit, but I was still left with a bit of a soggy chip and a few with burnt edges. I did have about 10 perfect chips, which I ate in 3 seconds flat.

I am determine to get this one right, so I will be revisiting it in the near future; probably at a lower heat for a longer period. I will also have to find a way to absorb some of the water (I’m thinking of tossing them in coconut or almond flour prior to baking).

If all else fails, this will be the last determining factor on whether or not I will be asking Santa for that dehydrator this year – I’ve been a very good girl!

