Many of us fall for the false notion that we need to spend a lot of money to really improve the appearance our skin, when in fact we have just been purchasing mass-produced products with minimal ingredients derived from natural sources. So why not use the basic, fundamental, whole ingredient that has not been diluted, altered, modified or preserved?

My mother has always told me that raw honey is great for your skin because of the hydrogen peroxide release; she was quite ahead of the times with natural remedies, or maybe just antiquated since honey was commonly used before modern medicine for healing wounds – Mom’s always know best (I can say this now, because I am one). I have taken her advice and used raw honey in the past on blemishes, which was certainly effective, but I have never considered it for use in part with my regular routine.

What sparked my interest?

My hubby walked out of the washroom last week with honey smeared all over his face (slightly alarming, yet oddly tempting). Afterwards he said “my skin feels amazing” (he is secretly a hippy disguised as Patrick Bateman in a Ralph Lauren Purple Label suit). Of course I had to give this a try…and once again he was right! My skin also not only felt amazing, but looked great too.

I’ve decided to do a 30 day trial of the raw honey mask every morning, of which I am seven days in, and there has been a significant improvement in the appearance of my skin. Sun spots seem to have lightened and my once clogged pores cleaned out and minimized in size, which has improved clarity and given my skin a more even tone.

Day 1 – Goopy, Gloppy, Gluttonous Goo!

IMG_5124

This wonderfully minimalistic tonic requires all but 1/2 a tsp. of honey a day, but I use a full tsp. and apply liberally around the mouth area…ahem. I’ve even been caught licking my fingers after applying it. Whatever…call me gross, but I can almost guarantee that you will catch yourself doing this too!

Why does it have to be raw honey?

Raw Honey has not been filtered or pasteurized, or in other words heated during production, which destroys its healing enzymes and antimicrobial properties. Pasteurizing basically turns raw honey into liquid sugar, which has no benefit to your skin, so don’t waste your time and money with regular grocery store brands. Make sure you use raw unpasteurized honey found at a local farmers market or health food store. We use the one below that my father-in-law purchases from a local bee farmer.

IMG_5315

This particular brand has very basic packaging, but since I know the source from which it comes, I know it is raw. You should probably make sure your honey has the words ‘raw’ or ‘unpasteurized’ on the label, just to be safe.

Why is raw honey so great for your skin?

When raw honey comes into contact with skin, the high ph and sodium levels provide the perfect conditions that activate a chemical reaction that starts to slowly release small amounts of hydrogen peroxide and gluconic acid, this in turn gives it it’s antiseptic and antimicrobial properties for healing wounds and killing bacteria and fungus.

Along with gluconic acid, honey has several other naturally occurring alpha hydroxy and amino acids that are present in small enough quantities to be effective but not intrusive. These acids help brighten skin tone, even out complexion and lighten scars and sun spots. The mild exfoliating alpha hydroxy acids will also remove dead skin cells while encouraging collagen production, great for mature/dull skin.

Other conditions such as acne, enlarged pores, eczema and hyper-pigmentation will also improve upon regular use.

Directions:

Rinse face thoroughly with warm water, scoop out 1/2 a teaspoon of honey with a spoon (I keep a separate jar of honey in the bathroom just for masks and scrubs). Apply the honey from the spoon to your face with two fingers and leave on for 20 minutes or so; I keep mine on throughout my shower and rinse it at the end. During rinsing you should notice that the mask has a slightly granular texture, which makes for a gentle scrub.

Note: It is important to not dip your fingers into the “honey pot”. Use a spoon instead to avoid any bacteria transfer and contamination, as with any potted cream.

I am delighted with the results thus far and I am only seven days in, so stay tuned for more updates and the final evaluation…

