Here are two really quick and easy to make, protein-packed power snacks that I have almost daily. I’ve been wanting to share these for awhile, but don’t have the time to write a long, elaborate post – I’m sure you prefer it that way anyways, so here it is, short and sweet!

Protein Parfait

Don’t ask me what inspired my to mix peanut butter and yogurt (I was probably in need of a big grocery shop), but this combo tastes unbelievable and waaaaaaay too delicious to be so healthy! It’s perfect for breakfast, when you hit that afternoon sugar-low, or even before bed, which is when I usually have it.

IMG_4769

Ingredients:

3/4 cup of greek yogurt

1 tbsp. Nut Butter

1/2 tsp. of paleo sweetener. I prefer yacon syrup.

1/4 cup of frozen or fresh berries

1 tbsp. Chia Seeds.

Directions:

Blend the first three ingredients well with a fork, then mix in berries, and top with Chia seeds.

If you are using frozen berries, they will be nearly thawed in 5-10 minutes after mixing. Another option (if using frozen berries) is to prepare the parfait in advance and refrigerate until you are ready to eat it. I would recommend only adding the chia seeds immediately before eating, as they will absorb the liquid and take on a thick gel-like consistency if left to absorb the moisture.

Pre-made Egg Muffins

A Pinterest favorite!

IMG_5463

You can pre-make these and keep refrigerated for several days. They are great to have within reach when you just need a quick boost and want to avoid going for that box of Triscuits (my weakness); why did they have to come up with all of those delicious flavors? Here’s an idea; add those flavors to your egg muffins instead! Here I used spinach, garlic (never without garlic) and cheese.

If I chop these up into small pieces, my 9 month old feeds them to himself and gobbles them up in seconds. The man on the other hand will eat them in one bite, which I actually hand feed to him…seriously, I almost lost a finger yesterday.

Ingredients:

10 Lrg. eggs

1/4 cup of milk

1 cup of raw spinach leaves, stems removed and chopped

1 tsp. pepper

1/2 clove of crushed, then finely chopped

1/2 cup shredded cheese of your choice

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350°. Wash and remove the stems from your spinach, then chop. Whip the eggs and milk. Stir in the pepper, finely chopped garlic and spinach. Pour the batter into the muffin tin, 1 cm from the top. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove from oven and add cheese immediately to melt. Let cool and refrigerate in a tupperware container.

Enjoy!

