Image

If you don’t want to spoon feed…try these!

Get all of your fruits and veggies in, soothe the symptoms of teething, and have your little one feed him/herself without constant supervision…what more could you ask for?

When my son was of age to feed himself (which I thought would make my life easier) I felt as though I was steaming, and chopping up food all day. When I reached out for help through my facebook page, my fellow Super Mom (Stacy) reminded me about frozen yogurt drops. Thank you sooooo much Stacy because I am now spending much less time preparing and supervising Jack’s meals.

These frozen bites melt easily making them safer, ease the symptoms of teething, and my son is now (unknowingly) eating kale, pumpkin, spinach, chia seeds and tons of fruit and berries in with his frozen yogurt drops.

Directions: 

Line a cookie sheet with wax paper. Blend up your shake as usual and drop 1/4 teaspoon at a time onto the cookie sheet. You may have to thicken up your shake if they are too flat. I use greek yogurt rather than regular yogurt as it much thicker and has considerably more protein. Here are few variations we love to blend up (I make half for my own shake and half for my sons drops):

Tropical Twist:

Pineapple, coconut oil (1 tbsp. per cup of smoothie) and or unsweetened coconut flakes, banana, greek yogurt, chia seeds.

Kale and Berries:

Kale, frozen or fresh blueberries, greek yogurt, chia seeds.

Pumpkin Pie:

Pumpkin purée (not pumpkin pie filling), pumpkin pie spice (found in the baking isle in the classic orange tin) which is a blend of cinnamon, ginger, cloves, nutmeg and allspice, or any variation of the aforementioned spices you my have hanging around (just work it), organic molasses (1/2 tsp. per cup of smoothie), greek yogurt, chia seeds.

NOTE:

You will notice that I have not listed amounts for the ingredients and this is because I don’t actually measure anything. I usually start with approximately 1 cup of yogurt and just guestimate and taste testimate from there.

If you feel you need to sweeten any of the above recipes, I highly recommend using unsulphured organic molasses which is high in vitamin B6, potassium, calcium and most importantly iron. If you would like to thicken your smoothies you can use a bit of coconut flour or an iron fortified cereal, I use oatmeal for my son over the other options.

