I have fallen off the grain-free wagon and I can’t get up!

…don’t worry, I’m okay it was a cushy landing 😦

Going grain-free is actually quite effortless once you are on a roll, but somehow over Easter, my birthday, and my son’s first birthday celebrations (all in the same week), I seemed to have lost my footing and fallen into a grain-ridden rut. Now I am no longer on a roll, but the rolls are on me.

I am now starting at square one and have resorted back to my original plan which is to trick myself into thinking I am eating my favourite comfort food. I am now using a short stack of homemade grain-free Crookies to boost me back up onto that very high wagon.

IMG_6846

These crookies make a slightly sweet and spicy, crispy little snack to quell those carb hankerings and help keep us on the right track.

I have finally perfected this recipe and so far so good!

Ingredients:

2 cups of cooked quinoa (I am a seed/pseudo cereal, not a grain)

1 extra large eggs or 2 regular eggs

2 cups of ground almonds

1/2 cup ground flax seeds

1/4 cup of sesame seeds

2 tsp. stevia

1 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. pumpkin spice or allspice

IMG_6810

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Blend the cooked quinoa and eggs in a blender or magic bullet for 30 seconds to 1 minute. In a large bowl combine all dry ingredients; ground almonds, ground flax, sesame seeds, stevia, sea salt, cinnamon and pumpkin spice or allspice and mix. Slowly add the quinoa and egg blend to the dry ingredient mix and knead until you have a thick dough-like consistency.

IMG_6814

Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper and transfer the batter to the middle of the trays. Slowly flatten and spread the batter across the tray starting from the centre moving your way out as evenly as possible with the back of a fork (slightly painstaking) or with your hands…whatever suits your fancy. Cover the tray and flattened “dough” with another piece of parchment paper and even them out with a rolling pin (a wine bottle also works – how very convenient since my rolling pin is in the shop…ahem). Do this with both trays. Remove the top pieces of parchment and put them aside. Score the crookies with a knife creating even cookie or cracker size squares, your choice ;).

IMG_6828

Bake on the middle rack for 25 minutes, then flip the crookies onto the saved parchment paper and back onto the trays, so the other side is facing up and bake for another 25 minutes. Remove from heat, let cool, crack and munch your way straight to the finish line!

IMG_6848

Cheers Mumz!

